IUBDC Host Annual Networking Event and Awards in Chicago

Illinois regulators, legislators and energy stakeholders joined directors of the Illinois Utilities Business Diversity Council (IUBDC) to celebrate the Council’s accomplishments, welcome incoming leadership, and recognize those individuals who made a difference for their companies, diverse businesses and the Illinois economy in 2018. IUBDC’s Annual Networking and Awards event was held Dec. 4 at the historic Chicago Club.

“What started as a forum for discussing critical policy issues and programs has evolved into something much bigger,” said Richard J. Mark, Ameren Illinois’ chairman and president, and the outgoing chairman of the IUBDC’s board of directors. “Today’s IUBDC reflects the commitment to not just buy more goods and services from diverse companies, but to truly engage in a strategic effort to expand the opportunities for diverse companies to succeed for the long haul.”

Mark highlighted the Council’s progress, including results of an economic impact study, which revealed that the supplier diversity efforts practiced by IUBDC member companies added $2.05 billion to the state’s gross domestic product, supported 14,200 jobs in Illinois, and added $341.5 million in taxes collected.

Several individuals and businesses received recognition for some of the many contributions to the region’s economic growth, dedication to the Council and strong sense of community:

  • Anne Pramaggiore, senior executive vice president and CEO of Exelon Corporation, received an award for her service and longstanding dedication to IUBDC, and her commitment to promoting diverse business growth in Illinois.
  • Illinois State Sen. James Clayborne Jr. and Emmett Vaughn, director of the Office of Diverse Business Empowerment at Exelon Corporation, received an award for their commitment to promoting diverse business growth in Illinois.
  • Several IUBDC committee chairs received certificates of appreciation for their commitment, dedication and service in support of the IUBDC.

IUBDC’s board of directors wrapped up the networking and awards event by honoring Jim Monk, president of the Illinois Energy Association, with the inaugural IUBDC Jerry Garland Award for Excellence in Supplier Diversity. Monk is the first to receive this very touching memorial award, celebrating his four years of service to the Council and body of work that exemplifies his passion, exceptional work ethic and commitment to the practice of inclusion and diversity. The award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated exceptional results in advancing the practice of inclusion and diversity. The Jerry Garland Award will be awarded annually.

Bruce Hauk, senior vice president of American Water’s Midwest Division and president of Illinois American Water, will serve as the IUBDC’s 2019 chairman of the board, succeeding Mark. Other board members are Charles Matthews, president of Peoples Gas and North Shore Gas; Melvin Williams, president of Nicor Gas; and Joseph Dominguez, CEO of ComEd.

The Illinois Utilities Business Diversity Council (IUBDC) members include Ameren Illinois, ComEd, Illinois American Water, Nicor Gas, North Shore Gas and Peoples Gas. The mission of the IUBDC is to serve the Illinois utilities as a forum for best practice sharing and information exchange with the focus on advancing the growth and utilization of utility-based diverse businesses in the state of Illinois.

To see photos from this event, please visit the Council Photo Gallery.

Leave A Comment